GEM ( Going the Extra Mile )

Standard

gem 1


Going the Extra Mile

A small principle which has immensely benefited me is what I like to share today – this is something which I practice both at my work place and in my personal life. – Going the Extra Mile (GEM). What this means is –  Doing more than what is expected from you in a given situation without aspiring for a gain or reward, either professionally and personally. This is one thing that will definitely take you ahead in life if you master the technique. The soundness of this principle can be proved if put in ones practice in daily life activities. Benefits of going the extra mile are enormous

  •  Making you invaluable
  • Your credibility will increase
  • You would find lot more opportunities coming your way
  • You would find lot of people looking up to you.
  • You will feel good with yourself.
  • You will be a person of influence.

Examples of Going the extra mile . There are a lot of examples I could give about going the extra mile …

  • I had a friend in Blore who was working as a medical representative for a company, his job was to meet doctors and get business form them , what he used to do was to doctors with good practice he collected their birthdays and made it a point to wish them on their birthday and give a small token a flower , a card etc. to the doctor. Needless to say the doctors always remembered him and gave his better treatment than the other visiting representatives.This was an initiative which he himself used to do and was not told to do by his company as a result of which there was an emotional bonding with the doctor and himself and you would have guessed the outcome in his professional sphere… he was one of the best, consistent  sales performers in the company.
  •  Once my colleague asked for help and told my his sister was coming for an interview in my town and to arrange a PG accommodation for her. Which I deputed to my junior who went out of the way and checked several accommodation and zeroed down on the best one as per convenience and budget and proximity to workplace.She came attended the interview and wanted to get back to the railway station to catch a train back home . I booked a cab took  time off from work and accompanied her to the station and put her safely in the train .

This is a classic case of going the extra mile. I am sure all of you would also have examples of  going the extra mile and for those who haven’t had the experience yet  this is the right time to go the extra mile and see the benefits of going the extra mile …. in this year.

Leave a comment